(0)
(0)
Concerts overview

Shahram & Reza Mirjalali, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi (Iran)

Virtuosos of Iranian music
Saturday 31 March 2018 - 20h00
Molière Theatre - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
SAT 31/03

To our great regret, Shahram Mirjalali will not be able to be play at the concert. Shahram Mirjalali’s visa application was denied twice, for very questionable reasons. We apologize for this case of force majeure. Reza Mirjalali and Mohammad Reza Mortazavi will perform and dedicate the concert to Shahram Mirjalali.

We know Shahram Mirjalali because of his part in the CD by the Iranian group Shahkilid, recorded some years ago on the Muziekpublique label. Shahram Mirjalali is regarded as a point of reference in the highly regarded Ispahan school. Shahram began learning the tar (a long-necked Persian lute) at the age of seven, thanks to his father, before starting to teach himself the barbat (oud family) two years later.  When he was twelve he was invited to play the barbat on radio and television in the Kouzestan, region of Iran.  Shahram quickly came to be regarded as one of the finest players of the tar and played on instruments which he made himself!

 

The tar is made up of a sound box shaped like a figure eight, with a skin cover and a long fingerboard of 26 to 28 frets and three strings. Mirjalali can be recognised by the warmth and energy of his style and by his ability to combine virtuosity and technique with fresh and inventive musical ideas. For almost 20 years he played in a duo with the grand master of the ney Hassan Kassai. Over all these years he also taught the tar to his son Reza Mirjalali, whom we know now for his  duo « Neighbours » with the Italian accordion player Simone Bottaso, and who is coming here to accompany his father.

 

Mohammad Reza Mortazavi

 

Finally, there are few musicians who cross the frontiers of their instruments, but the Iranian drummer Mohammad Reza Mortazavi is one of them. In his country his innovations are not always welcome, because they are thought to depart too far from tradition. In fact, they are quite stupendous when they are appreciated for their true worth!  Mohammad plays his powerful grooves without stopping, and sounds, all on his own, like a whole group of drummers.

  • Shahram Mirjalali: tar, barbat (oud)
  • Reza Mirjalali: tar
  • Mohammad Reza Mortazavi: tombak, daf

 

 

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Tickets

Videos

(0)
Retour vers les concerts

Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Reza Mirjalali (Iran)

Maîtres de la musique persane
Le samedi 31 mars 2018 - 20h00
Théâtre Molière - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
SAM 31/03

À notre grand regret, Shahram Mirjalali ne pourra pas être présent demain. La demande de visa de Shahram Mirjalali a été refusée deux fois, pour des raisons très discutables. Nous nous excusons pour ce cas de force majeure. Reza Mirjalali et Mohammad Reza Mortazavi joueront le concert en duo et le dédieront à Shahram Mirjalali.

 

Nous connaissons Shahram Mirjalali pour sa participation sur le CD du groupe iranien Shahkilid, enregistré il y a quelques années sur le label Muziekpublique. Shahram Mirjalali est considéré comme une référence dans l’école très réputée d’Ispahan. Shahram débute l’apprentissage du tar (luth persan à manche long) à l’âge de sept ans grâce à son père, avant de se commencer en autodidacte le barbat (famille du oud) deux ans plus tard. A douze ans, il est invité à jouer le barbat à la radio et télévision du Kouzestan, région d’Iran. Très vite, Shahram est estimé comme l’un des meilleurs joueurs de tar et joue sur des instruments construits de ses mains!

Le tar se compose d’une caisse de résonnance en forme de huit, recouverte de peau et surmontée d’un long manche de 26 à 28 frettes à trois cordes. Mirjalali est reconnaissable par son style chaleureux et énergique, et par son aptitude à combiner virtuosité et technique avec des idées musicales fraîches et inventives. Pendant près de 20 ans, il a joué en duo avec le grand maître du ney Hassan Kassai. Pendant toutes ces années, il a également commencé à enseigner le tar à son fils Reza Mirjalali, que nous connaissons actuellement pour son duo « Neighbours » avec l’accordéoniste italien Simone Bottaso, et qui vient ici accompagner son père.

Mohammad Reza Mortazavi

Enfin, rares sont les musiciens qui dépassent les frontières de leurs instruments, mais le percussionniste iranien Mohammad Reza Mortazavi en fait partie. Dans son pays, ses innovations ne sont pas toujours bien accueillies, car considérées comme sortant trop de la tradition. Or, ces développements sont incroyablement stupéfiants lorsqu’ils sont appréciés à leur juste valeur !  Mohammad joue ses grooves puissants en continu, et sonne, à lui tout seul, comme un groupe entier de percussionnistes.

  • Shahram Mirjalali: tar, barbat (ud)
  • Reza Mirjalali: tar
  • Mohammad Reza Mortazavi: tombak, daf

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Tickets

Videos