(0)
(0)
Concerts overview

Debashish Bhattacharya (India)

The master of Calcutta slide guitar
Friday 16 March 2018 - 20h00
Molière Theatre - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
FRI 16/03

Indian music is not just limited to the sitar or the sarod. Debashish Bhattacharya has developed a number of variations of the guitar as we know it by adding more strings and some other extras typical of Indian music. Debashish Bhattacharya has pushed the relationship between the guitar and the sitar further than any other musician. He has developed a number of variants, each one more impressive than the one before. In his three-part arsenal (“The Trinity of Guitars”) you can find an instrument with no less than twenty-two strings, the chaturangui.

Debashish Bhattacharya – one of the world’s greatest guitarists according to the magazine Guitar Player – owes his international success to his collaboration with the American virtuoso Bob Brozman. After his association with Brozman, he brought out the album “Calcutta Slide Guitar”, which mixes virtuosity and reflective raga. This album brought him a nomination for a Grammy Award and a flourishing career.

The origins of his instrument may well be western, but Bhattacharya’s instrument is firmly anchored in the pure tradition of classical Indian raga, and yet at the same time he is one of its greatest innovators. He heads his own school of music, which counts some 2000 students. The technique that he has developed involves playing with three finger picks and somewhat resembles the way in which American bluegrass musicians play the five-string banjo. It therefore comes as no surprise that he has played with countless big names of both Indian and western music, including Zakir Hussain and John McLaughlin.

http://www.debashishbhattacharya.com/

Enjoy many benefits and discounts

Become a member

Tickets

Videos

(0)
Retour vers les concerts

Debashish Bhattacharya (Inde)

Le maître de la guitare indienne
Le vendredi 16 mars 2018 - 20h00
Théâtre Molière - Galerie de la Porte de Namur, 3 Square du Bastion, 1050 Bruxelles
VEN 16/03

La musique indienne ne se limite pas au sitar ou au sarod. Debashish Bhattacharya a développé de nombreuses variantes de la guitare telle que nous la connaissons en lui rajoutant des cordes et des éléments typiques de la musique indienne. Debashish Bhattacharya pousse la connexion entre la guitare et le sitar encore plus loin. Dans son arsenal en trois parties (« The Trinity of Guitars ») on retrouve un instrument possédant jusqu’à vingt-deux cordes, le chaturangui .

Debashish Bhattacharya – un des plus grands guitaristes du monde selon le magazine Guitar Player – doit son succès international à sa collaboration avec l’américain virtuose Bob Brozman. Après s’être associé à Brozman, il sort l’album « Calcutta Slide Guitar » qui mêle virtuosité et raga silencieux. Cet album lui a valu une nomination aux Grammy Awards et une carrière florissante.

Les origines de son instrument ont beau être occidentales, la musique de Bhattacharya s’inscrit dans la pure tradition du raga indien classique, pour autant, il en est l’un des plus grand innovateur. Il est à la tête de sa propre école de musique qui compte près de 2000 étudiants. La technique qu’il a développée se joue avec trois « fingerpicks » et se rapproche un peu de la façon dont les musiciens de bluegrass américains jouent au banjo à cinq cordes. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’il ait joué avec d’innombrables grands noms de la musique indienne et occidentale, tels que Zakir Hussain ou John McLaughlin.

Profitez de nombreux avantages et réductions

Devenir membre

Tickets

Videos